Companies That Offer Tuition Reimbursement (2026)
A sourced database of 11 employers' tuition and education benefits. Every row quotes the employer's own page and shows the date we checked it. Filter it, or download the CSV.
Of the 11 employers below, only 3 state a dollar amount on their own pages, and 2 do not say who is eligible. That gap is the point of this database: it shows what you can verify, and what you still have to ask HR.
- employers sourced
- 11
- state a dollar cap
- 3
- omit eligibility rules
- 2
Showing 11 of 11 employers
- No dollar cap published
Walmart / Sam's Club
Live Better U
- Cap
- No dollar cap published. The page says eligible associates have little or no out-of-pocket cost for tuition and required books in eligible programs, with federal or state grant aid applied first.
- Who is eligible
- Full-time and part-time associates on day one. Temporary associates and salaried associates at market level and above are not eligible. Associates who already hold a bachelor's degree are not eligible.
- Waiting period
- None: day one
- Covers
- Foundational learning, bachelor's degrees and short-form credentials in the Live Better U catalog
- Payment
- Employer pays the program (no up-front cost to the associate stated)
- Repayment
- Page states no obligation to stay at Walmart or Sam's Club after completing a degree or certificate
Live Better U ensures eligible associates have little or no out-of-pocket cost for tuition and required books in eligible programs.
A 2020 Walmart fact sheet described this as '$1 a day'. The current page does not, so the older terms are superseded.
Source: Live Better U: Walmart's Education & Career Benefits (corporate.walmart.com)
- $5,250 per year
FedEx
Tuition Reimbursement
- Cap
- Up to $5,250 per year, with no lifetime maximum while you work at FedEx.
- Who is eligible
- Not stated on the source page
- Waiting period
- Not stated on the source page
- Covers
- Tuition
- Payment
- Reimbursement
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
FedEx will cover your tuition up to $5,250 per year ... With no lifetime maximums while you are with us
The page does not state who is eligible, a waiting period, or repayment terms.
- $7,500 per year
Bank of America
Tuition assistance
- Cap
- Up to $7,500 per year for job-related courses, degrees and professional certifications.
- Who is eligible
- U.S. employees; the page does not list hours or tenure rules
- Waiting period
- Not stated on the source page
- Covers
- Job-related courses, degrees and professional certifications
- Payment
- Not stated on the source page
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
This cap is above the $5,250 annual tax-free limit for educational assistance, so part of it may be taxable. See the stipend tax rules.
Employees looking to further their education can receive up to $7,500 per year in tuition assistance when pursuing job-related courses, degrees and professional certifications.
The page does not say whether the amount over $5,250 is reported as taxable wages. Under IRS Pub. 15-B only $5,250 a year is excluded under an educational assistance program, unless the benefit qualifies as a working condition benefit.
- No dollar cap published
Kroger
Continuing education program
- Cap
- Press release says up to $21,000 of reimbursement. It does not say whether that is per year or over a lifetime, so it is not entered as an annual cap.
- Who is eligible
- Part-time and full-time associates
- Waiting period
- Not stated on the source page
- Covers
- Higher learning or continued development
- Payment
- Reimbursement
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
part-time and full-time associates can take advantage of up to $21,000 of reimbursement toward higher learning or continued development
2023 press release, not a current benefits page. Confirm the period and rules in your benefits portal.
Source: Kroger to Bring More Resources to 700,000+ Associates (ir.kroger.com, 2023 press release)
- No dollar cap published
Lowe's
Tuition-free education program
- Cap
- No dollar cap published. The page calls the program '100% tuition-free'.
- Who is eligible
- Not stated on the source page
- Waiting period
- Not stated on the source page
- Covers
- Education programs; a separate Track to the Trades program offers tuition-free courses and upfront funding for trade skill certifications
- Payment
- Tuition-free (employer-funded)
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
Our 100% tuition-free education program helps you balance your career with your education.
The page does not state eligibility, a waiting period, or repayment terms.
- No dollar cap published
Target
Dream to Be
- Cap
- No dollar cap published. Target describes about 500 tuition-free or partially funded programs.
- Who is eligible
- U.S.-based team members, part-time or full-time, from their first day
- Waiting period
- None: first day
- Covers
- Undergraduate and master's degrees, certificates, language learning, high school completion, bootcamps
- Payment
- Tuition-free or partially funded, depending on the program
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
U.S.-based Target team members are eligible for Dream to Be ... whether they're part-time or full-time, from their first day at Target.
Target's benefits page adds that eligibility requirements may vary by position, average hours worked and length of service.
Source: Dream to Be fact sheet, updated Sep 29, 2025 (corporate.target.com)
- No dollar cap published
Starbucks
Starbucks College Achievement Plan
- Cap
- No dollar cap published. The page promises 100% upfront tuition coverage toward a first-time bachelor's degree.
- Who is eligible
- Not listed on the page; it points to starbucks.asu.edu/faq
- Waiting period
- Page says apply on day one
- Covers
- First-time bachelor's degree, 180+ undergraduate programs online from Arizona State University
- Payment
- Upfront tuition coverage
- Repayment
- Page says no strings attached after you graduate
100% upfront tuition coverage towards a bachelor's degree at your pace, no strings attached
Hours and tenure rules are not on the employer page. Check starbucks.asu.edu.
- No dollar cap published
Amazon
Career Choice
- Cap
- Amazon's page says it pre-pays tuition and reimburses books and fees 'up to an annual amount' but does not state the amount.
- Who is eligible
- In the U.S., the vast majority of hourly full-time and part-time employees after 90 days; U.S. salaried employees at Level 4 and above were added
- Waiting period
- 90 days of employment
- Covers
- Pre-paid tuition for associate degrees, bachelor's degrees and certificate programs
- Payment
- Tuition pre-paid; books and fees reimbursed
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
In the U.S. Career Choice is open to the vast majority of Amazon hourly full-time and part-time employees after 90 days of employment
Third-party sites quote a $5,250 figure. Amazon's own FAQ does not state a dollar amount, so none is entered here.
- No dollar cap published
CVS Health
Tuition assistance
- Cap
- No dollar cap published.
- Who is eligible
- Page says eligibility and coverage effective dates may vary by program, and union colleagues should see their collective bargaining agreement
- Waiting period
- Not stated on the source page
- Covers
- Job-related degree and non-degree programs, or high school diplomas
- Payment
- Tuition reimbursement, with options to earn a degree at no cost
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
We're proud to help our colleagues continue their education and pursue job-related degree and non-degree programs, or high school diplomas.
No amounts or eligibility terms on the page.
Source: Benefits (jobs.cvshealth.com)
- $5,250 per year
Verizon
Tuition assistance
- Cap
- $5,250 annually, as stated on the benefits page for U.S. non-represented employees.
- Who is eligible
- The page applies to U.S. non-represented employees and is subject to plan document terms; tuition-specific eligibility is not stated
- Waiting period
- Not stated on the source page
- Covers
- Tuition assistance
- Payment
- Not stated on the source page
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
$5,250 annually in tuition assistance
Some Verizon job postings and older Verizon reports have cited a higher figure. The benefits page is the only source used here.
Source: Benefits (mycareer.verizon.com)
- No dollar cap published
Chipotle
Cultivate Education debt-free degrees
- Cap
- No dollar cap published. The release says 100% of tuition costs up front for the listed degrees.
- Who is eligible
- All eligible employees, including crew members, after 120 days of employment
- Waiting period
- 120 days of employment
- Covers
- 75 types of business and technology degrees at launch
- Payment
- Tuition covered up front
- Repayment
- Not stated on the source page
After 120 days of employment, employees are eligible to pursue degrees from leading nonprofit, accredited universities.
Source is a 2019 press release and no current official benefits page was found. Treat every term as possibly changed.
Source: Chipotle Debuts Debt-Free Degrees For All Employees (newsroom.chipotle.com, Oct 15, 2019)
How this database is built
- Each row comes from a page the employer or the program operator publishes: a careers or benefits page, a corporate fact sheet, or an investor-relations press release. We read each one on 2026-10-14.
- A field is filled only when that page states it. Where the page is silent the row says so, and the CSV says "Not stated".
- A dollar cap is entered only when the quote on the row contains the amount. Third-party blogs, job boards and news stories are not used.
- Employer pages change. A press release dated years ago is flagged in the row's note. If a row looks wrong, email us and we will recheck it.
Checked, but no usable terms
These employers are often asked about. We did not add rows for them because we could not read a primary page that states the terms.
- Disney (Aspire). The program site did not load from our checker, and the only terms we found were in news coverage, which we do not use.
- The Home Depot. Path to Pro is a skilled-trades training and scholarship program for the public. No current page describing an associate tuition benefit was found.
- UPS. The careers benefits page lists 'Education/tuition assistance programs' with no amounts or eligibility terms.
- McDonald's. The Archways to Opportunity tuition page did not load from our checker, so no terms were verified.
Using a row
Take the employer's own sentence to HR and ask for the written plan: the annual limit, the waiting period, whether the school is paid directly, and what happens if you leave. Then put the amount into the tuition reimbursement calculator to see how much is tax-free. If a program pays more than $5,250 a year, the stipend tax calculator shows what the excess costs you.
Sources and date checked
Every number and rule on this page comes from the pages below, read on October 14, 2026. If a source changes, this page can be out of date until it is rechecked.
- Live Better U: Walmart's Education & Career Benefits (corporate.walmart.com)
Walmart / Sam's Club: Live Better U.
- Hiring and Development (careers.fedex.com)
FedEx: Tuition Reimbursement.
- Benefits (careers.bankofamerica.com)
Bank of America: Tuition assistance.
- Kroger to Bring More Resources to 700,000+ Associates (ir.kroger.com, 2023 press release)
Kroger: Continuing education program.
- Compensation & Benefits (talent.lowes.com)
Lowe's: Tuition-free education program.
- Dream to Be fact sheet, updated Sep 29, 2025 (corporate.target.com)
Target: Dream to Be.
- Education (careers.starbucks.com)
Starbucks: Starbucks College Achievement Plan.
- Amazon Career Choice FAQ (aboutamazon.com)
Amazon: Career Choice.
- Benefits (jobs.cvshealth.com)
CVS Health: Tuition assistance.
- Benefits (mycareer.verizon.com)
Verizon: Tuition assistance.
- Chipotle Debuts Debt-Free Degrees For All Employees (newsroom.chipotle.com, Oct 15, 2019)
Chipotle: Cultivate Education debt-free degrees.
- IRS Publication 15-B (2026), Employer's Tax Guide to Fringe Benefits
The $5,250 annual exclusion for educational assistance.
- Rev. Proc. 2025-32 (2026 inflation adjustments, section 125 and 132(f))
The exclusion is permanent and indexed for inflation for taxable years beginning after 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Which companies offer tuition reimbursement?
This database lists 11 large employers whose own pages describe a tuition or education benefit, among them Walmart / Sam's Club, FedEx, Bank of America, Kroger, Lowe's. Each row shows what the employer publishes and links to the page. It is a sample, not every employer: many smaller companies offer a benefit through HR without publishing it, so ask yours for the educational assistance plan document.
Why do so many rows say the dollar cap is not published?
8 of 11 employers do not state an annual amount on their own page. They often describe the benefit as tuition-free or covered, with the limit in a plan document, a partner portal, or a job posting. We only enter a dollar figure when the employer's page or press release states it, so you will not find guesses here.
Is employer tuition assistance taxable?
Under IRS Publication 15-B an employer can exclude up to $5,250 a year of educational assistance from your wages under a written plan. Anything above that is wages unless it qualifies as a working condition benefit. Rev. Proc. 2025-32 says the exclusion will be adjusted for inflation for taxable years beginning after 2026. Check your own plan before you assume a larger benefit is tax-free.
Do part-time employees qualify?
At some employers yes. Walmart, Target, Amazon and Kroger describe part-time eligibility in their own materials, with conditions that differ. Use the part-time filter, then read the row, because waiting periods and exclusions vary.
What if my employer is not on the list?
Ask HR whether the company has an educational assistance program and for the written plan. Then use the tuition reimbursement calculator to see how much of your cost is tax-free. If there is no program, ask for a one-time approval, or look at the Lifetime Learning Credit on IRS Publication 970.
Related tools and guides
- Tuition reimbursement calculatorRun a benefit amount through the $5,250 tax-free limit.
- Tuition reimbursement guideHow the benefit works and how to ask for it.
- Target tuition reimbursementA closer look at Dream to Be.
- Amazon tuition reimbursementAmazon Career Choice in detail.
- Course ROI calculatorIs the program worth your time?
- Stipend tax calculatorWhat counts as taxable pay when an employer helps.
